The Perks of Being a Wallflower Review

by Brodie Marchant Featured 9 Comments 33 Votes 2068 Views 04/12/2012 Back to Articles

13 years ago, screenwriter Stephen Chbosky published The Perks of Being a Wallflower as a novel, and now he has not only adapted it for the screen, but taken it upon himself to direct it. The result is a near perfect adaptation of an already highly regarded piece of young adult fiction, and one of the best movies of the year.

Perks is a high school coming of age story about a socially awkward, but completely loveable, teen. We've seen this thousands of times with varying degrees of success, and Perks is never the film you expect it to become. Chbosky clearly knows how to treat his young adult demographic with respect -- Perks is a very mature film that is constantly juggling extremely dark themes.


Protagonist Charlie (Logan Lerman) is starting his first year of high school with no friends and a rather traumatic past. He befriends two seniors, Patrick (Ezra Miller) and Sam (Emma Watson). Like Charlie, the are outcasts, but they've learned to enjoy standing in the sidelines.

There are perks to being a wallflower.

The characters are forced to deal with hard hitting issues and themes beyond their years, including mental illness, sexual abuse and death. While it never becomes too dark, at times it’s uncomfortable. Everything is handled with a boyish smile, largely due to Lerman's superb performance.

Every single member of the cast is incredible. Emma Watson is given the least to do, but she will still bring you to tears and I wouldn’t hesitate to call Ezra Miller a scene stealer, after a stunning performance filled with copious energy and fun.


Lerman captures what it's really like to be a socially awkward young adult. There are even small traces of what might be autism. As the film progresses, Charlie evolves and by the start of the third act, Logan Lerman's performance has entirely switched gears.

At times Perks of Being a Wallflower seems pretty dark, but it never leaves you sad for too long. It juggles heartwarming moments, tearjerker scenes and hilarious comedy exceptionally well. Until the finale, where it takes one last shot at trying to tear your heart out as Charlie is finally confronted by his past.

Perks of Being a Wallflower isn't just one of the best movies of the year, it's one of those films that will sit on your shelf watched repeatedly over the years to come.

By Brodie Marchant

The Perks of Being a Wallflower
5/0
5.0
DirectorStephen Chbosky
StarringLogan Lerman, Emma Watson, Ezra Miller
RatingM
Length 103 minutes
MMGN movie reviews are rated out of 5 stars
Link to us http://movies.mmgn.com/Articles/the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-review
Tags: a Adaptation being Book Brodie ezra Marchant Miller movie of perks review the wallflowe
Register or Login to vote for this article.
Alternatively, connect with Facebook or Twitter.
Facebook Connect Twitter Login

More Info on Perks of Being a Wallflower, The

  • Perks of Being a Wallflower, The
Australian Release: Out Now

The Perks of Being a Wallflower Review Comments

Leave a comment Log in with Facebook
There are times like this I regret being so generous with 5 stars. This one really deserves it.

shiversul said: There are times like this I regret being so generous with 5 stars. This one really deserves it.

Definitely. Best film of the year.
The Perks of Being a Wallflower Review
The Perks of Being a Wallflower Review
I saw this a couple weeks ago and really enjoyed it. Surprised I did actually
Great film ! Hadn't read the book before it though
Good review. I wasn't so interested in this movie but this review changed my mind. I'll be sure to watch it when I can. The Perks of Being a Wallflower Review
Nicely picked regarding hints of autism. The truth or dare scene and his behaviour following that screamed Aspergers to me

never seen it

Post a comment

Leave a comment Log in with Facebook
  • Perks of Being a Wallflower, The

Movies Content

Which July movie are you most excited for?

Which July movie are you most excited for?

27/06/2013 Polls 18 40
E.T. dig doco Atari: Game Over free to watch on Xbox

E.T. dig doco Atari: Game Over free to watch on Xbox

Gryllis 9 hours News 0 2
Netflix officially launching in Australia in March 2015

Netflix officially launching in Australia in March 2015

Gryllis 5 days News 7 17
Interstellar review

Interstellar review

OutsetBrodie 11/11 Articles 3 10
Star Wars Episode VII titled The Force Awakens
Gryllis 07/11 News 2 6
Channel 7 catch-up TV app Plus7 coming to PS4

Channel 7 catch-up TV app Plus7 coming to PS4

Gryllis 06/11 News 2 3
Foxtel pricing overhaul - What you need to know

Foxtel pricing overhaul - What you need to know

Gryllis 03/11 Articles 13 11
Star Wars Battlefront confirmed for

Star Wars Battlefront confirmed for 'holiday' 2015

Gryllis 29/10 News 5 9

Community Content

Awesome Gaming Stuff Of Tomorrow, Today! Vol. 3

Awesome Gaming Stuff Of Tomorrow, Today! Vol. 3

02/09/2014 Blog 11 0

MMGN Updates

Status
Updating..
Username

commented on Win Pro Evolution Soccer 2015 on PS4 or Xbox One!

Becky118 6 hours ago
Username

Blak is now Level 18!

Blak 8 hours ago
Username

K4ZMA made a change to Psycho-Pass 2

K4ZMA 10 hours ago
Username

Blak's article - Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan) Season 2 Slated for 2016 has been featured by Guyver, great job!

Guyver 12 hours ago
Username

Nikolca wants My Horse and Me 2

Nikolca 1 day ago
Username

Nikolca got My Horse and Me 2

Nikolca 1 day ago
Username

zurczner, K4ZMA commented on Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan) Season 2 Slated for 2016

zurczner 2 days ago
Username

Blak's article - Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan) Season 2 Slated for 2016 has been featured by K4ZMA, great job!

K4ZMA 2 days ago